Outstanding women in nation’s service awardees announced

CATW-AP’s executive director Jean Enriquez was chosen as one of the 11 recipients of Philippine’s Outstanding Women in Nation’s Service.

Ms. Enriquez, 5th from right, with other recipients

A congresswoman, the country’s first female oceanographer, a television reporter, and female pioneers and experts in various fields are among 11 recipients of this year’s The Outstanding Women in the Nation’s Service awards.

The awardees are Therese Tianco Badoy, who was cited for her work in alternative education; Akbayan party-list Rep. Arlene Javellana Bag-ao, for her work as an alternative lawyer; broadcast journalist Kara Patria Constantino David; Laura Tenmatay David, the country’s first female oceanographer; social entrepreneurship pioneer Therese Clarence Arellano Chua Fernandez; anti-human trafficking campaigner Jo Enrica Catalla Enriquez; organizational psychologist Regina Hechanova-Alampay; urologist Carmela Mortillero Lapitan; economist Stella Luz Alabastro-Quimbo; argicultural researcher Marissa Villafuerte Romero; and information and communications technology leader Myla Cristina Crespo Villanueva.

The TOWNS winners were announced during simple rites at the Dusit Thani Hotel in Makati City at 11 a. m. Tuesday. The awarding ceremony will take place on a later date in Malacañang.

The final nominees were screened by a six-member board of judges, which included Chief Justice Renato Corona, Commission on Higher Education chair Patricia Licuanan and former health secretary Esperanza Cabral.

source: Inquirer.net

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s